## **Ceiling of Poll Expenditure Increased**

The government has cleared a proposal of the Election Commission to raise the expenditure limits for Lok Sabha elections by amending Rule 90 of the Conduct of Election Rules, 1961. The ceiling on poll expenditure has been raised from Rs 40 lakh to Rs 70 lakh for each Lok Sabha constituency in bigger states and from Rs 22 lakh to Rs 54 lakh in smaller states.

The bigger states include Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Karnataka etc, and the smaller states include Goa and other hilly and north eastern states.

The Government also cleared the proposal to raise expenditure limits for assembly elections, with a maximum of Rs 28 lakh and a minimum of Rs 20 lakh in North Eastern and hill states

Increase in the number of electors and polling stations, and increase in the cost inflation index were some of the reasons cited for hiking the expenditure ceiling. The overwhelming view was that the poll ceiling should be raised in keeping with the inflationary pressures. An all-party meeting held on February 4 had described the existing spending ceilings as "impractical."

The election expense documents include details of expenses on public meeting and processions, campaigning through electronic and print media, expense on campaign workers, expense on vehicles used and expense on campaign materials.

The poll panel has, by convention, revised the expenditure cap every five years. It was revised last in 2011, when the ceiling for a Lok Sabha seat was raised from Rs. 25 lakh to Rs. 40 lakh.

The details of the notification are as under:-

## **NOTIFICATION**

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (3) of section 77 read with section 169 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Central Government, after consulting the Election Commission, hereby makes the following rules further to amend the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, Namely:-

- 1. (i) These rules may be called the Conduct of Elections (Amendment) Rules, 2014.
  - (ii) They shall come into force on the date of their publication in the Official Gazette.
- 2. In the Conduct of Elections Rules, 1961, in rule 90, for the existing Table and entries relating thereto, the following Table and the entries shall be substituted, namely:

## **Table**

S. No.	Name of STATE/UNION	Minimum limit of election expense in any on		
	TERRITORY	Parliamentary	Assembly constituency	
		constituency		
I	STATES	₹	₹	
1.	Andhra Pradesh	70,00,000	28,00,000	
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	54,00,000	20,00,000	
3.	Assam	70,00,000	28,00,000	
4.	Bihar	70,00,000	28,00,000	
5.	Chhattisgarh	70,00,000	20,00,000	
6.	Goa	54,00,000	28,00,000	
7.	Gujarat	70,00,000	28,00,000	
8.	Haryana	70,00,000	28,00,000	
9.	Himachal Pradesh	70,00,000	28,00,000	
10.	Jammu and Kashmir	70,00,000	28,00,000	
11.	Jharkhand	70,00,000	28,00,000	
12.	Karnataka	70,00,000	28,00,000	
13.	Kerala	70,00,000	28,00,000	
14.	Madhya Pradesh	70,00,000	28,00,000	
15.	Maharashtra	70,00,000	28,00,000	
16.	Manipur	70,00,000	20,00,000	
17.	Meghalaya	70,00,000	20,00,000	
18.	Mizoram	70,00,000	20,00,000	
19.	Nagaland	70,00,000	20,00,000	
20.	Orissa	70,00,000	28,00,000	
21.	Punjab	70,00,000	28,00,000	
22.	Rajasthan	70,00,000	28,00,000	
23.	Sikkim	54,00,000	20,00,000	
24.	Tamil Nadu	70,00,000	28,00,000	
25.	Tripura	70,00,000	20,00,000	
26.	Uttar Pradesh	70,00,000	28,00,000	
27.	Uttarakhand	70,00,000	28,00,000	
28.	West Bengal	70,00,000	28,00,000	
II.	Union Territories			
S. No	Name of State/Union	Minimum limit of election expense in any one		
	Territory	Parliamentary	Assembly constituency	
		constituency		
1.	Andaman & Nicobar	54,00,000	-	
2.	Chandigarh	54,00,000	-	
3.	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	54,00,000	-	
4.	Daman & Diu	54,00,000	-	
5.	Delhi	70,00,000	28,00,000	
6.	Lakshadweep	54,00,000	-	
7.	Pondicherry	54,00,000	20,00,000	